Gold Foil Tutorial

gfheader

Hey Guys!

Earlier this year, I was itching to update the blog logo. I’ve always envied logos with gold foil, but I figured only a Photoshop pro could do things like that. If you know me, then you know that I’m the type of person that is constantly saying “I could make that” when I walk through a store, or when I’m browsing online.

Naturally I went to the craft bible known as Pinterest, and found tutorials using my friend PicMonkey (the free, online photo editor that isn’t complicated). I use PicMonkey to make all of the headers and logos for The Lindsey Vibe. I also use PicMonkey to design the art prints for Freebie Friday!

While I was browsing through tutorials, I discovered that PicMonkey had updated, and that these tutorials were of no use. So today I want to share a gold foil tutorial for the updated version of PicMonkey. Ready?

The first thing you need to do is download some digital foil. I recommend downloading your foil from Gold and Berry. It’s free, and you get nine different colors. (99% of the time, I use number eight!) FYI: you will need to unzip the file before you get started.

Next you need to head over to PicMonkey, and upload the image you want to add gold foil to. I’m using a freebie stock image.

1.png

The next thing you need to do is add your text. Your font must be black. I used Dallon and BodoniFLF, both of which I downloaded for free online.

2.png

Once your happy with your text, click on the butterfly on the side bar (see below).

3.png

The butterfly takes you to the overlay menu. Click on add your own, then select computer. Find the digital foil you downloaded earlier, and open the foil of your choice.

5.png

For my image, I’m only adding foil to the words “gold foil”. As you can see below, I sized down my foil to cover part of the word “gold”. I will have to repeat this step to cover the rest of the words. If you want all of your text to be gold, you can skip that step.

6

This is when the magic happens! You’ll see a pop-up menu on the right side of your screen. It’s normally in the way, but this time it’s important! Under blend modes click on the word normal. A drop down menu will open. Click on lighten.

7

Ta-da! You just made your text gold!

8.png

I repeated this process for the rest of the words “gold foil”, and then I added some extra touches to the rest of the text.

Finished!

10.png

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!

See you next time!

– Lindsey

2 thoughts on “Gold Foil Tutorial

Leave a Reply

