Books I Didn’t Like

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, then you know how much I love to read. However, sometimes I come across a book that is just painful to read. As a little disclaimer, there might be a book on this list that you love. And that’s okay! I just didn’t like it. No hard feelings! Without further ado, here are three books I didn’t like:

An Abundance Of Katherines by John Green:

tumblr_m594prrf331r0yglfo1_400

An Abundance Of Katherines is a strange story about a guy who only dates girls named Katherine. I had a really hard time finishing this one. I thought the whole story was kind of pointless. I kept reading it because one of the characters loves Judge Judy, and she’s my home girl.

Looking For Alaska by John Green:

looking-for-alaska-10th-anniversary

Looking For Alaska is a book that I had such high hopes for. Some people really love it. The story is about a guy that goes to boarding school in Florida, where he makes a couple of friends. One of those friends, is a girl named Alaska. Alaska uses her past as an excuse for her destructive behavior. As a reader, that’s really frustrating. Later on in the book, Alaska receives a phone call in the middle of the night that makes her hysterical. She ends up driving drunk, and dies in a car accident. The other characters spend the rest of the book trying to find out if she committed suicide, or if it was truly an accident.

A lot of people think Looking For Alaska is full of really great symbolism. I just didn’t see it.

Believe it or not, I’m a big John Green fan! I totally recommend his other books: The Fault In Our Stars (my favorite book) and Paper Towns. I love both of them!

The Opposite Of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

1397733525000-theoppositeofloneliness-600

Oh goodness. I have rewritten my review of this book an embarrassing amount of times. Due to the unfortunate circumstances that go along with this book (the author was killed in a car accident five days after graduating from Yale), I’m trying to be too nice. But the reality is, this book is awful.

The Opposite Of Loneliness is a collection of stories and essays, and is divided into two parts: fiction and non-fiction. I finished the all of the fiction stories, but I gave up one story into the non-fiction half of the book.

I was really looking forward to reading the title essay “The Opposite Of Loneliness“, but I was disappointed to find that this essay that has been read millions of times on Yale’s website, is basically a graduation commencement speech. To give you a summary: Marina really loved Yale, and felt the opposite of lonely during her time there.

Truthfully, the short stories Marina wrote aren’t very good. They reminded me of a creative writing project you would be given in English class. The type of project where your teacher says “write about whatever you want, it just needs to have a beginning and an end.”

Unfortunately, her tragic death is the only reason this book exists. I know that’s harsh, but it’s true.

I’ve also briefly reviewed two other books I didn’t like: The One & Only (read here) and Nothing To Prove (read here).

What are some books you didn’t like?

See you next time!

– Lindsey

Leave a Reply

