What I Read: May

MYHDR

Happy June!

I hope the month of May was great for you! I wasn’t very interested in reading last month, so I only read three books. The pile of books in my closet that I still need to read is driving me crazy! Hopefully this month I will be able to read at least four books!

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Image result for saint anything sarah dessen

I read this book when it first came out in 2015, and I loved it. I wanted to read it a second time, and see if it was worth keeping. I’m a big Sarah Dessen fan, but I’ll be the first person to admit that some of her books are better than others. I’m so glad that I decided to re-read Saint Anything, because it’s so good!

Pages: 432

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Related image

Vanishing Girls was just okay. The story is meant to be suspenseful, but the way it’s written makes it easy to predict what’s going to happen next. There’s a big plot twist towards the end of the book, but it just made me confused about the entire story. Unfortunately, I wouldn’t recommend Vanishing Girls.

Pages: 384

Beauty Begins by Chris Shook and Megan Shook Alpha

9781601427311

I received Beauty Begins from Blogging For Books (thanks guys!) I really enjoyed reading a passage on the difference between beautiful and pretty. I had never thought about how different they could be! The authors take you through a timeline of what was considered pretty in the ’20s, ’30s, and so on. The mini-history lesson teaches us that the definition of pretty is “ever-changing and keeps us in a constant state of discontent.”

However, the definition of beauty is considered universal and never changes. The authors go on to tell a story describing the most beautiful sunset they have ever seen. As they were watching the sunset, they began to understand that it was so beautiful because they weren’t looking through the mirror of cultural standards (like we do when we see our reflection). Instead, they realized it was beautiful because God had created it, and that real beauty begins with God.

Pages: 198

This Month’s Stats:

18/50 Books Read

5,814/25,000 Pages Read

See you next time!

– Lindsey

Leave a Reply

