What I Made: Jumbo Tassel Paper Clip

JMBOTSS

Happy Thursday!

I’ve been loving using my new Lilly Pulitzer agenda this week, but I need something to mark what page I’m on. Now I could use a basic paper clip, but that would be boringgggg! Today I’ll be teaching you how to make a jumbo tassel paper clip, and if you want to learn how to make one, then click the link below!

Supplies:

 

Screenshot_20170731-190227.png

– Multiple skeins of embroidery floss (the more thread you use, the thicker your tassel will be!)

– Good scissors (aka not your kitchen scissors)

– Jumbo gold paper clip (make sure your paper clip is coated to prevent tarnishing!)

– Charms or embellishments

Step One:

Cut though one end of your skein, and unfold it from the paper labels

Screenshot_20170731-190741.png

Step Two:

You should be left with a big pile of thread. If you’re using multiple colors like me, then keep reading. If you’re only using one color, then skip to step three! I took a small section of each color, and arranged them in a new pile.

Screenshot_20170731-190930

Step Three:

Gather your pile of thread, and pull it through your paper clip half way

Screenshot_20170731-191110.png

Step Four:

Wrap the “neck” of your tassel with an extra piece of thread. Simply wrap until it feels secure, and tie a knot.

Screenshot_20170731-190623.png

Step Five:

At this point your tassel should look like this:

Screenshot_20170731-190451.png

This really isn’t the look we’re going for, so we’re going to need to give our tassel a haircut. I recommend dipping your tassel in a cup or sink full of water. Not only will you be able to cleanly cut your tassel, but the pieces of thread will no longer be wavy.

After I trimmed my tassel’s “dead ends”, I gently combed the thread with a wide tooth comb. I left my tassel on my bathroom counter to air dry, but if you were on a time crunch (or if you’re just really impatient), you could use a hair dryer.

IMG_20170731_113219077

Step Six:

Later that day, my tassel was dry enough to add embellishments! I chose to add a fun charm from an old ban.do phone case. I simply slid the charm on to the paper clip, and voila!

IMG_20170731_185549653

I love how it turned out, and I think it matches my agenda perfectly!

IMG_20170731_185725842

I hope you enjoyed today’s tutorial!

See you next time!

– Lindsey

3 thoughts on “What I Made: Jumbo Tassel Paper Clip

Leave a Reply

